Chili John’s Famous Chili


Chili John's Famous Chili Recipe | Culinary CompostOK, the amount of fat in this recipe is enough to clog the intake pump on an offshore oil rig. Still, Chili John’s is legendary in the city of Green Bay. You can even find it sold in half-gallon tubs at local supermarkets. This is reputedly a confirmed reprint of the original recipe.

 

Ingredients:

3/4 lb. suet
2 lbs. ground chuck
3 cups water
2 tbs. butter
2 tbs. mexican oregano
2 tbs. ground cumin
2 tbs. cayenne pepper
2 tsp. onion salt
2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 cup chili powder

Spaghetti noodles, cooked al dente
1 14.75 oz. can dark red kidney beans, drained and warmed in a covered pot
Shredded sharp Wisconsin cheddar cheese
Sour cream
Scallion, thinly sliced

 

Preparation:

In a large skillet, fry out the grease from the suet and save. Add 2 lbs. ground chuck to the suet grease and brown with the butter. Simmer for 20 minutes. Transfer to dutch oven with 3 cups water and simmer for 2 hours, uncovered.

Add all of the seasonings to the meat and simmer for 5 additional hours, uncovered. More water or beef broth may be added as needed. Stir well and serve.

Spoon over spaghetti noodles and red beans. Top with shredded Wisconsin sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream and chopped scallion.

Serves 4-6.

===

Chili John’s

519 S Military Ave, Green Bay, Wis
920-494-4624

Rumor has it that this chili shack is the one place legendary coach and sports commentator John Madden always frequents when he visits Packerland. Since 1913, Chili John’s has been treating customers to hearty servings of the magical elixir, which comes in four different versions — mild, medium, hot, and extra-hot — served with spaghetti, beans, and Wisconsin shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

Take-out bowls are available if you’re on the go.

 

Note: Culinary Compost never endorses products for profit, and has received no monetary compensation for the content of this post.

10 thoughts on “Chili John’s Famous Chili

  1. Just made this Chili and it is fantastic! It was no problem getting suet from a local butcher. Followed this recipe to a “t” except I used one level tablespoon of cayenne instead of two and that made the level of hot perfect for my family and myself. Used to eat this chili at Chili Johns when a teenager. I worked at HC Prange in downtown Green Bay (1969) and would walk to the shack for lunch. This recipe is correct and tastes just like what I remember getting so many years ago! Thanks for posting!!!

  2. ditto on the heat level, used to get a quart of extra hot with beans and take home to add my own spaghetti.

  3. used this recipe a few times over the years, and really like it, but only used the recommended 2 Tablespoons of cayenne the first time. Now, I like stuff hot, but the cayenne just completely takes over the flavor profile at that level, and most of my family couldn’t eat it. It even makes me wonder if it was a misprint, as I’ve seen similar recipes call for 1 tablespoon or less. I settled on 2 teaspoons, and that seems to make a good spice level for just about everyone (also more similar to the spice level of just buying a tub of “a bowl of red” seasoning), allows the other flavors to come through, and I can always spice it up a bit more if I choose. Also, as I have a bit of trouble getting suet, I often just use tallow, reducing the amount to about 9oz to account for water and solids that would be in the suet.

    • I’m not sure Jason, but i do know that their hot version is pretty damn hot.
      I love spicy food, so it’s never been an issue for me – but everyone in my family tells me i’m the joker in the deck.

      I have used rendered bacon fat with great success in place of suet. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Mike

  4. Pingback: Cole Cooks: Green Bay Chili John's Recipe - Fun Diego Family

Leave a comment